Dead seeds and dying sprouts

Irish Joe

:byebye: I am looking for some advice if you have the time, basically out of 10 seeds that I had left, 4 failed to germinate after 12 days, a further 6 sprouted and ALL DIED before a week old, the sprout's just stand up for a couple of days then fall over and after I help them upright the 2 round leafs and the tiny little plant leaves just curl up and die, any suggestions? the set up, the soil, the lighting etc is all the same, It has me baffeled, today I put 2 seeds into paper towels to germinate so if this fails I will have to reorder some seeds:thanks: for any help.

Hello,

I'm still new in germinating seeds, but in my country the only seeds I get is the seeds that came with the packaging.

I think my only difference in yours is rice water, we eat rice everyday as our main diet.

Alternately we will eat shrimps and the water too went to the plant. Thanks to my nature loving mother.

It worked even on our curry & mint leaves.

sounds like they are selling you bad seeds ... not a very good seed bank esecially if they have a bad attitude after all if your growing illegally what do they need to worry about ... having said that you should make sure that you temperatures ect are ok make sure they arnt given any neuts at all until 2 - 4 weeks old make sure you dont over water also! a tip to help with germination try cracking open the shell only slightly (a little slit) on the seed this will (from all the seeds ive done) garrentee 100% germination ive had just recently 6 seeds germinate out of 6 seeds where as a little while ago i had to try 15 just to get 1 (but then i was just using wild random seeds)