electrical question

Bigjoemeat

Hows it going.alright to the point. Right now I'm running a 1000w hps on a surge protector that's rated for 15amps..1800watts. I just ordered a dual socket light timer that's rated for 15amps also. If I plug in a 1200w mars 2 led in that 2nd socket of the timer would I be okay? Should I dim the ballast on the hps down to 750w? I only have one circuit to run off of. So only have room for 1 power strip.

Hey Big im not an electrician but I know you should never go over 80% of what your amps can handle. So in your case 1440w is the absolute maximum you should load. Stay safe.

Ok thanks..so maybe ill dial down the hps to 750w and the 1200w led only uses 595 actual watts so that'll put it at 1345w..right? I should be good?

Your 1200w led is rated on LED watts. That is not the actual draw from the wall. I have not tested that one, but consider it to be a little over half, maybe 650w - 700w. This is because of varying voltages of different diodes. The reds are considerably lower than other colors for instance, and that brings down the actual current draw. You can buy a current meter very chealy, plug it into the wall and then your device into it and it will show you your actual current draw.

Careful with that timer. I've had one burn out before and it was a horrible sight. I came back home, the timer was a molten ruin and
there was a big black streak running all the way up the wall and smoke stains all over the ceiling. The smell lasted for a week. I was well under the rated power I could run through that thing and had been using it about a year. Apparently the cheaper timers aren't made all that well. (Duh...). Make sure you have some basic fire safety precautions going on and pay attention to how hot the connections are getting in regular use. Good luck

I also had one of those timmers that went bad. I now have a 20 amp industrial timer
IMG_128025.JPG