Electricity by diesel generator

sixxhundoo

420 Member
Okay, so i am in the middle of re building a caravan's inside into a cosy grow room. I got 15m² total, and there will be 2 rooms. My only problem is electricity, i really dont want to run a 100m of cable through the woods from my house. First i thought solar panels, but those bastards ain't cheap. So a generator hooked up to a set of batteries seems like the best option.

So i was wondering if any of you have done something similar, and how was the diesel consumption through out the months?

This is what i will be using of power
2 x 600w LED
2 x 16w fans
1 x 30w fan
1 x 200w heater
1 x dehumidifier, could not fint wattage

Now im no electrician and neither am i good in maths. But if i got a 3000w diesel generator, would it be able to power it all?

What up Sixxhundoo?

Welcome to forums at 420…. While I can’t help you on fuel consumption for diesel gen set…..

what I can do is this…… not counting the unknown dehuey…. but that’s 1462 watts total but IIRC there is a 125% multiplier for anything that runs continuous duty which is 4 hours or more…. so 1462 X 125% comes out to 1827 watts…. but if the generator pumps out 240 volts your could split the load between the 2 phases, it’s called load balancing, pretty self explanatory….

seems like there is a 125% multiplier for motors too maybe not cheapie fan motors but I’m more concerned about the dehuey compressor motor kicking in but I think that 125% is just startup voltage to get motor spinning to correct rpms

so put 1 light and 1 heater on one phase and the rest on the other leg…

once you find actual wattage draw of dehuey this will prolly need to be readjusted to account for extra wattage draw

requesting little help guys if my facts & figures are wrong…… don’t be shy now

Maan im researcing and taking notes like crazy, how's your night going? And thank you, happy to be here :D

Thanks for clearifying it up for me, it's a huge load of my mind!