First Grow Space

Kronos

Hello,

First off, I want to thank all of you for the wealth of information on this forum. I have been reading through the posts for the past week now and have already learned so much from your experiences.

I am a complete novice to growing and my goal is simply to grow a few plants (2-4) for personal use. So far I've decided on beginning with clones in an organic soilless mix (castings, vermiculite, and perlite) under a HID light.

Currently I'm weighing the pros and cons of two options for the grow space:

1. Grow Tent set-up. I'm liking the Gro lab DR60 (or should I be looking at the DR80?).
2. Modified Outdoor Storage Shed. This would be lined with panda plastic and modified with intake/outtake vents, etc to mimic an indoor closet grow space. I'm big into DIY projects!

The grow tents seem pretty self explanatory, but I am worried about a few issues with them mainly having them indoors (heat, smell, noise, and light). I definitely have the space for it in my closet but I don't know what to expect regarding it smelling up my clothes or noise from the fans. So if anyone can let me know what to expect with grow tents it would be awesome.

Also, I'm guessing that a 400 watt HID (digital ballast for MH/HPS switching) would do me nice. However, I am thoroughly confused when it comes to the pricing of these things as they range anywhere from $150 - $400! Just what sets a name brand lighting system (like those sold at Hydro store) apart from the much cheaper ones to be found online?

:thanks: in advance

Im either case you have to worry most about the climate controls. Tents work ok as long as you have a way to get fresh air in and hot air out. To do it right you'll need the tent, 3 fans ( one for intake, one for exhaust and an oscellationg fan to move the plant around and make them stem strong. If you are worried about the smell then a carbon filter attached to you exhaust would be required.