Multiple questions on DWC water - PH & PPM - Both going up without any real plants

Papageno

I am new to Hydro and built a "large" (34 gal) tote system like those superponics systems that is a multi-plant DWC with a top drip to test out this method. Now to start with I went to this local grow store and got some bad advise that I knew at the time was bad but they were very convincing regarding my seeds. I have very old seeds from when I used to breed 10 years ago that I wanted to use in this first hydro setup for experimentation. After sprouting them in paper towels I transferred them directly into growstone per the grow shop recommendation. I thought that was a bad move but like I said they convinced me it would be fine. Instead of the tap root shooting down and the pod coming up they both just started curling up in the first vacant area between the stones where it was placed in. So lesson 1 learned, use some sort of basic medium like peat rooting medium to get them started in not directly in the stones.

The problem is it has taken a long time for them to break up through to the top and I had to go in and rearrange the rocks and the sprouts to get the tap root to drive downward. Now they have all but one come up and are starting to look OK.