My First DWC Grow! So Far So Good!

j0hnnyblaze

Hello....I am very new to growing but I have read up on a lot about DWC systems and decided to try and start my own. I got 6 clippings from a friends plant and used some clonex gel and also the clonex solution to spray them once every 2-3 days in the propagator. I previously used rootech, but I did not get 100% success rate.

I purchased these through Amazon

Re: My first DWC grow! so far so good!

So after a week of propagation, I noticed roots coming out of the foam medium. I was very excited to take my plants to the next step of the DWC grow. I purchased 10 gallon tubs and drilled holes into them to host the net baskets. I can go into detail of what I did to cut the tub and such if you guys want to PM me. So for this first tub, I cut out 6 holes and one tiny one to run the air hose to. The 6 baskets will contain the clay rocks and the 6 rooted clones. The lights I am using are from a previous aquarium hobby that consists of 4 t5 lights at 6500k. Some people use the 18 hrs on and 6 hrs off timing, but I decided to go with the 24 hr route. If you have trouble finding affordable lights to use then contact me for info on where I purchased my lights. They work the same for my new hobby since the previous one required lighting for aquatic plants. I plan to leave my plants in this stage for about a week before I do a water change and add more nutrients.

Water: I just used my local tap water

PH: I have my PH at 5.2-5.5 and I really recommend using a digital PH tester as they are more accurate. The tester I am using is a very cheap one that works very well. Purchase one with a temperature gauge too so you can keep an eye on your water. Every water change my water temp is roughly around 69 degrees and during the vegetation stage it reaches up to 72-75 degrees. Remember to try to keep your water cool as possible.

Nutrients: Canna Aqua Vega A and B
How much I used: 6ml/gallon for A and B

Nutrients: Canna Rhizotonic