Need Help - advice - What am I doing wrong?

sec0pz

Greetings all,
I am very new to growing. This is my first grow. I have been reading 420 since Dec. and have started germinating and (attempting to) grow some seedling from bag-seed. I seem to be having some problems with the seedling part of the grow. I cant get anything to come out of the soil, and when it does come above ground, the seed "shell" stays attached to the seedling. I have posted some pics to look at of botht e plants and my setup. I will try to give as much info as I can so the experts can give me good advice.
My DIY / Ghetto grow box is 4ft tall x 3 ft wide x 2 ft deep. I am using 8x 5700k CFLs. I germinate in damp papertowels then slip into ziplock bags to keep moist. When the beans pop, I wait til the tap root is approx 1/8 to 1/4 inch long before I plant in soil (FOX FARM OCEAN FOREST). I give it a few "spritzs" of water when I plant.

Now here is where I could (prob am) screwing up.

The water I have been using is well water with very high sulphates and manganese. Its "smelly" (smells like rotten eggs) water. Safe to drink and bathe in with a 6.0ph, but I dont know its effect on plants. Also, I have been giving the plants / seeds a few spritzes of water each day. Enough to keep the top of soil moist, but no more. I dont think I have been over watering, but I will leave that for someone to tell me.

Additionally, the seeds I am using are old. As in 3-4 yrs old and have sat in a baggy in my smoke box all that time. I need to order some good seeds but figured I would "learn" on the seeds that I have before I dropped dime on something new.

Anyway, thats it. I have one seedling above ground now and he /she has a deformed leaf set (in the pics) but looks strong.

Can some pls help me?? What am I doing wrong? I have since (48 hrs. ago) changed the water to melted snow water (room temp, 5.5 ph) and stopped watering everything.

Any advice is good advice and I will answer all questions.