Need some pointers on first poor man's grow

Toronto420

So I've spent the weekend checking out grow journals, tutorials, FAQ's, and it's been incredibly helpful. I've been planning on trying out a cheap, amateur grow for a while now and finally have a space to do it (closet).

I plan on trying out 2 plants, and going CFL...

My priorities are: Heat, Detectability, Energy Use

I've chosen CFLs for a couple reasons: I'm a total noob. I don't feel comfortable using HID systems as my space is confined and not easily vented, plus I have heard some horror stories having worked for the Fire Marshall for years past.

So, I like the fact that CFL's are self-ballasting, emit very low heat, and consume very low energy levels. I am aware that yields are not as high with CFLs, but for my first grow on a budget, I will give it a try.

So my main question for now is:

How critical is COLOR TEMP? For example, during veg growth will I notice better results using a 6500k lamp or is 5000k fine? The super daylight (6500k) lamps seem a bit harder to find in stores, let alone the 5000k...I work for a lighting distributor but do not want to risk making these types of purchases through my own company...

Anyway, hopefully someone can answer that and I'm sure the questions will be flowing in once I get going. My preliminary setup in my mind goes something like this: for now, I have a small cabinet which I'll be painting flat white on the interior. I'll have room for two pots but only about 3 feet of vertical space. So I'll need to upgrade once they get to that point, but for now the box will serve its purpose. I'm thinking 3-5 higher watt CFLs (28watt or higher) placed very close to the plants should do the trick. Once, and if, they get to the next level, I plan on grabbing some T5 fluoro strips as add ons, but whatever can give off decent light with little heat and little energy consumption, I'm in need of. Thanks in advance, 420mag rules.