New to hydroponics

rumplestiltskin

Hello so I’ve been growing weed the past year simple soil and water nutes etc

I’ve just purchased a simple bucket hydro setup, I’ve put water in etc and rockwool germinating the seeds. What do I do for nutes? I want something simple but have no idea from this point. Also do I have to add nutes and then PH the water and use up down to get it right?

How do I refill the water when it gets low? Just use normal water then re-ph?

Hey Rumplestiltskin,

Whats up? Haven‘t heard from you in a while - hope all is good. Do you have water pumps & air stones and were you looking at deep water culture?

Yes you need hydro style bottled nutes specifically an NPK plus a cal-mag product.... yes on adding nutes and then doing ph up or down. When it’s low I’m not sure but it may be just topped off with water or complete res change. I’m going to ask @Rexer to jump in here, but take his word over mine since I’m a novice at anything hydro

But yeah take a look at this Bluters place he’s running hempy grow or dutch buckets. On page 81 he answers some of my questions since I am just starting this method too, The difference between this and dwc is in hempy style you drill a hole 2 & 1/2 inches from bottom to create a small reservoir but also pay attention to what he says to me about the feed schedule. This may cost a little bit more since you gotta feed every day in flower but it’s a small res. He grows out monsters in 2 liter plastic trash cans from the dollar store.

anyway more people will jump in soon

I wasn’t trying to be short. Anything anybody tells you isn’t going to sink in until you have a grasp of what your diving into. Read 20 completed journals of the style you want to try. Read both successful and failure journals. Change your mind back/forth 50 times. Make a plan, a budget, and a contingency and dive in. Coco might be a good place to start. Its hydro without root problems.

Best of luck!