Newbie has heat issues in grow tent

localgirl

Aloha all! I'm hoping that someone more experienced can help me. I have a 2' x 3' x 6' grow tent in a closet. I have a 440w MH/HPS grow light with winged hood, but my temps are too hot!!!

Initially I had a 220CFM fan on the exhaust to a carbon scrubber, but the temps were still too high. Of course, I didn't realize that I got a booster fan! So I got a 440CFM 6", which is much better (and put the 220CFM booster fan in the intake). If I close up the tent, temps shoot up to 86-88.

Okay, so I'm thinking that I need to get an air cooled reflector for the 400w or cool tube or buy a 250w air cooled grow light. What are people's preferences on air cooled reflectors vs. cool tube? Should I try to get an air cooled reflector for the 400w (or is it too much?) or buy a new 250w air cooled grow light?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I'm new at this too so I'm not sure how much help I'll be, when you say intake, does that mean you have a fan also blowing cool air into the tent to replace the old air? if so it sounds like you may need to go with a cooled light or a lager tent, I read of one guy adding wet wash rags inside the tent and he got the levels right..best of luck

Aircooled will help, maybe. But more than likely if your getting that high of temps you need to either drop your ambient temperature with AC in house or get a portable air conditioner. Temps create huge issues tackle it before you run into trouble.

Hey local girl,