Newbie here looking for help

Shvin

420 Member
Hi there
I’m looking to start growing a couple plants outdoors. I’m on the south coast of British Columbia. I’m pretty good at regular gardening so I’m hoping some of those skills transfer over. I’m thinking if starting out with White Widow seeds and I’m hoping to grow them in a couple large pots. What else do I need to purchase or know to get this process started.

Hiya Shvin If you are going to be filling those pots with soil I have a few suggestions, but I grow indoors in smaller pots so use what you need toss the rest! I find it's trickier to water and track the wet/dry cycles for little plants in big pots, I think its easier to start in small pots and up pot to a medium, then the big for the ride home. Also a bit of cal/mag is good for weed plants (indoors needs more is what they say) and is rarely (I haven't seen it yet) included in nute packages from the various manufacturers. CHeers mate, gl to your grow! :yahoo:

Thanks for the info
I do plan on starting small and transferring to larger pots as they grow. I’m thinking I’ll start the seeds in peet pods then move to small pots I have left over from flower seedlings I’ve purchased and so on. Will any organic putting soil work? What about fertilizers? Any recommendation on brand or composition and when should I use it? Just when I transfer to the larger pot? Any other chemicals or items I should have on hand? I’ve been reading some other posts on here but there is A LOT of info. Trying to weed () through it all and decipher what’s useful for my situation.