Request for assistance

Apprentice? I didn't start growing yesterday, in fact I've been growing solid for 8 years. I think my credentials are pretty good.

Then perhaps you can answer his question?

when you have a suspension of water and nutrients are not the bubbles carrying nutrients? hmmm???

I know you didn't, the guy above did.

So let me ask you this, how would you advice the person to flush his system?

well the easiest and cheapest way would be to drain the resovoir....then run water from the TOP down. I dont think he needs DripClean or Clearex or anything....run 5 gallons of plain water thru it. Test the PPM of the water before and after...Ill bet you a buffalo nickel that the PPM would rise 400-600 ppm when done. the nutrients are taken UP....in the bubbles...thats how the roots and media get in there. do you think that only pure water is bubbled up?
Why have nutrients at all. Now to really twist your panties....if you have good air you can SUBMERGE the whole pot....I had a mother in there for almost 10 mnths totally submerged in a bucket...the pics are in the pic fest.
the roots are going to be submerged anyway as they grow into the resovoir

The thread starter hasn't mentioned his pH yet. I'm betting that's where the problem is.

I've never seen a case where bubbles have been able to cause salt built up to cause plants to lock-out when their roots are in the water in dwc.

I have

After 8 years of continual growing Im sure you have seen how certain nutes are locked at certain PH numbers. Thats why its always good to start at 5.5 and let it rise to 6.2....allows the full range of nutrients to be absorbed. If you hold at 1 steady number and chase it you will have problems.

Yeah man, I love the pH drift.

But here's the problem I have with flushing advice I often see. In soil people flush by pouring water through their pots, once, maybe twice and it's flushed.