REVIEW: Sun System 150W HPS System

SunCoastHydro

This is my first “review” so please be kind. My background is in mechanical engineering, not in literature, so I am more number oriented.

I ran some tests on the Sunlight Supply 150W HPS Lighting System. This complete lighting system is compact; yet very potent (putting out a rated 16,000 lumens with the included 150W HPS bulb).

For being a magnetic ballasted system it is not too loud. While running in my office it does have a slightly audible hum (which is typical with magnetic ballasts). When I leave the room the ballast is not audible in the hallway outside my office.

Of course being technically minded I needed to run energy consumption tests on the light; I must say I was quiet surprised.

Outlet Voltage: 122.5V
Instant On Amperage: 4.31A
After Running 60min: 3.33A

This results in an initial start-up watt consumption of 528W. After letting the light warm up and stabilize for 60 minutes the light was consuming a consistent 408W. This means the light is consuming 408W to produce 150W of lighting (a power factor of 37%).

The light was positioned 18” above a container of Hydroton and left to sit for 60 minutes. The temperature at the surface of the container was 86F, while the office temperature was a consistent 76F. This little light is perfect for a small garden, smaller than 2’x2’.

We sell the Sun System 150W HPS System through our website, CLICK HERE TO BUY.

ss150hpsresized01.JPG
ss150hpsresized02.JPG
ss150hpsresized03.JPG

ss150hpsresized04.JPG
ss150hpsresized05.JPG
ss150hpsresized06.JPG

ss150hpsresized08.JPG
ss150hpsresized08.JPG
ss150hpsresized09.JPG

Sweet little light it might be just what I need for my veg room.

It is a nice little light. I was extremely bright while using it in my office.

I have several more review coming up:
-Lumatek Ballast
-Yield Master Reflector
-Sun Blaze T5 Lighting