Ventilation Setup

vickg35

Newbie here, just looking for advice on my ventilation setup. I'm working with a 2x4x5 grow tent, 400w cooltube . Looking at some inline fans just not sure where to start. Thinking of going a inexpensive route and buying something off ebay/amazon. Any help is appreciated

Would I be good with a a 4"? And how many cfms for the size of my tent?

4 inch is more than enough for a tiny little half tent... Don't know what they are in CFM but most the top quality ones, (which you definitely do not HAVE TO have in your setup; you could manage on something cheaper if you're looking to just get your feet wet for the first time) do like 250m3/hr if I remember rightly... You want the volume of air exchanged to be the volume of the grow every three mins MINIMUM; at least that's what they say, I know folks who have managed on much less. For example: if you're tent were 4x4x4 you would have 64 cubic feet, so therefore the minimum for your room you need a fan of no less than about 25 CFM or something. Add in your figures ( I couldn't see the post anymore once I got to the replying screen) and hey presto: you have the minimum required. For OPTIMAL performance you could go a tiny bit higher but with such a small space it just wouldn't be necessary unless you run into heat issues...

Best of luck
Cheers
LD

My vent set up ,can fan, German made eBay 82 dollars
IMG_74121.JPG

Hi vickg35! Your grow space volume is only 40 ft3 so a 4" fan would work well even a half (or lower) speed. However, all depends on how stealthy / quiet you desire to be. Timwhoa's suggestion of a 6" set-up would allow the fan to run even slower which may give significantly quieter sound level from the fan. In either case, much of the noise in a typical ventilation system is from the rush of air through the system and this won't be a big problem for you at the low air speeds needed for your tent. Either approach should work for you. Good luck!