How factual are your facts? Biased information and tips for success

FoNz

How factual are your facts?
Biased information and tips for success

A recent conversation inspired me to put together a post on a subject that is very relevant to the shared interests on this forum. That subject is the journey of fact-finding and the obstacles an individual faces.

To illustrate this point, we will look at information about a product that I have used and enjoyed before - ProMix by Premier Tech Horticulture.

As a disclaimer, I am a biologist who's education encompasses a significant amount of relevant information to the horticultural and agricultural fields with no personal interest or relationships with profit-based ventures in those fields. I do have a bias towards inspiring personal growth and critical thinking in individuals and consider myself a lifelong learner.

To the point, not all information is good information and a very large portion of information is guided, inspired or directly produced by individuals with conflicts of interest. That is to say, the information they have is biased.

The Representative and the Website
An individual stated that a ProMix representative suggested that pH balancing your nutrient solution is unneeded and claims success with consistent unbalanced pH waterings. According to the ProMix site they have lime to buffer the pH of the soil, while peat is the acidic compound. These materials serve multiple purposes, but almost explicitly among them is to pH balance the solutions you feed your plant (be that filtered water or nutrient based).

I didn't have to look far for their page on the subject. From the companies website on growing medium pH (link here):