LED questions for newbie.

mmmnq

420 Member
Goodday everyone :Namaste:

I got a 3x3 grow tent from Gorilla and my next purchase is a grow light. I've been researching and so far I got to the conclusion that I will just buy the CLW SolarSystem 550 because it gots bells and whistles like automation stuffs.

But upon reading the forums, most of you recommend the COB panels. Now I'm a beginner and I don't really know the differences from COB panels to the SolarSystem 550 that I was about to buy. From what I have gathered, COB panels are white. How can white be better for growing? What are the advantages for COB panels over the standard LED panels?

I've also read that I need around 450 watts for my grow space. I only want to buy one LED so is 600 watts overkill for my plants?

Thanks!!

:thanks:

So I currently flower over a 1m^2 area using 450 watts of cxb3590.
While the light is white it is important to remember that 'white' light is comprised of many different wavelengths which is similar to how an HID creates light. Typically prior to cobs LEDs tried to recreate the spectrum used in flowering by mixing different wavelength diodes in an array, giving you the reds and purples.
This is an example of the spectrum a cob creates with different color temperature cobs and cri (color rendering index)
cxb3070-spectrum2.jpg

COBs are typically regarded as the superior albeit more expensive route to go with LEDs, I will say that I am sold on their advantage over a typical led panel having previously owned one. It is quite a bit more expensive however figuring that each cob with a holder and lens will cost roughly $40-45 plus a driver for the cobs (you may need multiple depending upon how many cobs you are running) then some sort of heatsink, I personally went with passive pin heatsinks.
I hope this helps, if you have further questions feel free to ask!
IMG_20160813_144448.jpg

Hi TheEEngineer, awesome set up!