Lighting question - First time grow

Ir0nlung

Hi. I have made a grow box and the dimensions are 3 ft high 1 1/2 ft wide and 2 ft deep. I am going to try a combo of LED lights with T5s. I am just wondering what size of LED unit to get. I am completely new to growing so I dont want to get to big a unit that wont fit in my box or light burn the leaves.

Have a look at one of the forum sponsors site - Mars , Led grow light , Mars Hydro plenty of led panels to choose from also look at light foot print mentioned ya get a good idea of area coverage as well :thumb:

Mmm ye bigger box would help a lot once you factor in plant size plus stretch in first few weeks of flowering & safe hanging distance from bulbs/ led panel used !

Build your own $80.
420-magazine-mobile1341923175.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using 420 Magazine Mobile App

Thats a real small box. You asking for trouble. Id go min 5' in height and give 4 square feet floor space min. The smaller the box the harder it will be to have good environment. You want minimum 400w of true power to grow a mmj plant other wise you are wasting time in my opinion. Light and environment are the 2 most important factors when growing.

But no matter what lights you use....we see lumens and thats how we judge but plants actually use the kelvins (heat signature) and the general rule of thumb is 6-6500k for veg and 2700-4000k for flower.

Cfl's work great for boxes due to their low heat.

Led's need more room and put off slightly higher heat.

Boxes can be tricky with maintaining proper temp and rh without proper ventilation.

Hope that helps. Happy growing

Oh I thought the box would be a good size, I have seen videos of people growing in pc towers and empty audio speakers. Ok I will try and get my hands on a fridge and convert that

It depends on if you want a harvest or some tiny pieces of bud. You can grow under anything but i recommend no less than 400w per square meter for a plant that will give some decent bud.