Problems growing AK420 Auto

MikeB1

420 Member
Complete beginner growing cannabis. Bought 3 seeds of Seedstockers AK420 Auto from a local reseller. Planted them and all seemed relatively well (2 out of 3 germinated) but after some weeks the seedlings started showing brownish spots on their leaves.

I'm growing in regular potting soil for outdoor plants (an inexpensive bag of 50L bought in my local supermarket, it says it's for growing plants outside, tomatoes etc.). I've been keeping the pots (plastic with drainage holes in the bottom) outside during the day on my balcony where they catch about 7 hours of direct sunlight. Then during the nights when it's colder I move them inside where it's around 23 C / 73 F.

Apart from the brown spots on the leaves I feel conflicted about what is better in my scenario, do I keep moving the plants outside during the day and bring them in for the nights and maybe risk stressing the plants too much due to the constant changes in environments, or is it better to just keep them outside all the time, even though the nights here can get pretty cold? These days the temp during the night gets as low as 11 degrees C / 52 F.

Another downside of moving the plants inside every evening is that they then receive less light. The first light of the day starts between 4 and 5 AM. When I sleep it's dark in the house as I draw down the window blinds. I get up around 9 so if I would leave my plants outside all the time that would mean an additional 4 to 5 hours of light each day.

The days get dark at around 10PM. So it's 13 hours of light versus 17 - 18 hours of light.

Any thoughts?

1.JPG

2.JPG

3.JPG

Hiya Mike.
Yeah 11° at night is a little on the cold side...I'd carry on bringing them in at night unless it gets alot warmer.
Cheap supermarket soil can give good results but can be strong for a seedling.
A little tip for next time if you use again. Add some perlite for better drainage.