SmokeyBloke's First Deep Water Culture - Unknown Strain

SmokeyBloke

420 Member
Hi all, SmokeyBloke here.
New Member, long time reader.

So as the title says, this is my first attempt at a DWC.
This is a 2 plant, Unknown strain setup.
I am making this journal to keep track of progress, so I can learn from my mistakes and improve my grow skill.
Also to hopefully get some much needed and greatly appreciated advice along the way.

Before I start id like to say that this grow is on a budget (mostly donated equipment), as it is a test run so to speak.
I am currently lacking test equipment (I have an aquarium PH test kit only) but this should be remedied soon.
Also I am already 3 weeks into veg, and will be using my paper journal and photos taken from week 2 to get everyone up to speed of progress so far.

Okay so the Equipment

Container is a 65L storage container I got for $9
A donated water pump (unknown LPH) with 4 outlets, 2 outlets per plant.
Air pump I had laying around as an extra for my aquariums. With a fine air stone for increased water oxygenation.
Nutes I got from the local hydro store.
For lighting I have a 400W HPS light that was donated by a friend.
Bench top fan for air circulation.
Foil as a reflective surface.

The Grow Room

The room used to be a flat top patio that was enclosed with tin sheeting, 2 decent size windows and rear door added. The room holds warmth well and can be cooled with fresh air through the windows if needed (note that fresh air can enter the room without open windows, windows only really used for cooling purposes).

The Grow is set up at one end of the room, close to a window (with blackout curtain).
Foil surrounding the plant on all sides for increased light, the exception being the front access, the foil sits a little higher than the container as to let the fan blow against the plants and to get air circulation.
Also I will most likely be giving them more room in the future, the compact space is really just to start them.