Total rookie looking for help

Nickaberdeen

Hi there. I am a complete newbie and was hoping someone on here can help me out as I am really struggling with my first grow. I'll try and provide as much information as I can (if you need anything else just let me know and I'll try my best to provide the relevant information).

Okay so here goes...

I bought a NFT hydro system and was told to just try to grow without looking online, this really didn't work for me. So I have decided to seek some help on here.

I have read a lot of different articles about different things but think I am having a bit of information overload and am just lost on what I should be doing. Sorry for how long this will be but I would like to be as thorough as possible, so please bare with me.

I have gone through about six seeds with different amounts of success, I thought I had finally cracked it(by a pure luck) but I would accept that for the one that worked but yesterday it went from looking healthy to practically dead in the space of half an hour. We discovered the bottom of the stem was brown (I think caused by overwatering, but that's a guess), we tried to prop it up and within half an hour it had completely gone flat. I think we were to rough with it. Nothing is so depressing as seeing that healthy looking plant die.

The previous attempts we couldn't get to the serrated leaves stage, some didn't do anything and some got the flat leaves. We have learned a fair amount from the failures we had and without doubt I would say I was responsible for all of the failures but I am going to persist until we succeed and hopefully after that we should be able to get a constant success rate from then on.

Anyway...to the point...

I am starting another two seeds as we speak. I am currently soaking them in a glass of warm water for 24 hours to soften them and think I will then put them in rapid rooters and place them in my spare room (as there won't be too much light in there) on top of a radiator.