Using coco coir, perlite and hydroton in ebb and flow

Pinktiger777

I've been growing in hydroton exclusively now for a few years, but I'm looking for a lighter medium. Does anyone have experience growing with a mixture (50/50) of coco coir and perlite on top, and a 2-inch layer of hydroton at the bottom?
I saw a rather old article online that suggests it:
Article Link
I'm so tired of lugging 30 pound bags of hydroton downstairs. Also, it is often difficult to up-pot my clones into the hydroton, as I grow the clones in DWC. It is roots and stem when I put it in the pot; I've been layering the hydroton with the roots, but always worry about damage. This wouldn't be such an issue with the coco coir and perlite mix, would it?
Thanks to anyone offering info.

OK, peeps: @InTheShed, @Pennywise @Vulx or anyone - (wish there were a hashtag for anyone, LOL)
I have a question. When using coco coir and perlite versus hydroton, is the growth in the plants different?
I'm noticing a couple of things, and we are in the fourth week of veg in the big tent. Usually, by now I'm ready to flip. But these plants are not going to be ready. They aren't tall enough.

See:

This is what they should look like:

I'm not unhappy with my plants. They are more compact, actually, than before. And I think I know why: The roots are not poking out of the bottom like they usually do. If a root is happy staying where it is (I assume the absorbent quality of the media keeps them moist and full of air) then it won't seek more.
So it becomes rootbound and the plant is stunted. Which, to be honest, is wonderful. I do not mind a longer veg time. And maybe, just maybe, I won't have to continue pushing them down before they're ripe.

Thoughts?

If you’re running in coco it’s a hybrid between hydro and soil. I’ve grown plants 5’ tall with coco. The thing that hydro does is grows big plants fast. Coco isn’t quite as fast but can grow huge plants.