First Grow - Brown Spots on leaves

Chillieman

I am a newbie grower, and i have started 2 little plants, one is about 10 days old and the other is probably 13-15 (idk the actual age of either of them) i had noticed slower growth on the older one, and i decided to transplant both of them to a larger pot (they were in a 9 oz plactic cup to start) i decided to keep the older one in the plastic cup, and simply cut the bottom and let the roots find their way. Unfortunatally i messed up a tad and i cut into a root (maybe a few but i think i only cut one) and i am noticing little brown dots on my first set of fan leaves. Most brown spots (3 brown spots) are only found on one leaf, but today i have noticed another brown spot on the other fan leaf. I am assuming this because i hit the root and the plant is still in recovery (i transplanted about 3-4 days ago) I havnt noticed any brown on the younger one. Both plants SEEM to have stunted growth (Im assuming this is from transplanting)

Here are some facts about my growing:
- I am using Mircle Grow potting mix with time released nuts (I understand i shouldnt get timed released from now on)
- i am NOT testing the pH of the water/soil
- I keep my water out overnight in order to get rid of any chlorine, and to make sure it is at room temp.
- i know i am NOT over watering, because the leaves are not wilting/curling (They are nice and stretched out)
- The older plant started Green (NOT DARK GREEN) and has been turning more yellow-ish over time
- I am using Fluros, one 20W Sylvania Grow-Lux (Standard), one 20W Wide spectrum light (Hanging at 2-4 inches from the plants)
- My temperature has NOT been staying constant (ranges from 70-78 degrees) because my A/C has been broken (fixed now and will stay at about 73-76)
- When i cut the root, I would say that the plant still had 95-98% of its root mass (it was a very small portion of root that i cut)