First timer here wondering on training a plant that has odd branching

Well if it turns out to be something decent ill have to give it a go. Wish I could let someone with more experience have a clone to see what they could do with it. This is my first time growing so my experience is next to nothing

Quick question for you.. so if it does turn out to be a female and I clone it then it would be identical to this plant and have the same mutation
In theory, yes. In actuality, maybe not.

I had a plant from seed that after I took the first cutting, from the top, started to grow 3 shoots from one side and the normal single shoot from the other. As long as I let it grow that one size had 3 stems growing. When I took clones off of that side and rooted them, the new plants no longer had the 3 stems and reverted back to looking like the normal plants we are used to.

It is not really a mutation if it does not pass on to the next generation by seed. I consider these oddball shapes and growth patterns to be similar to minor birth defects in people or other mammals. A lot of people have one leg or arm shorter than the other but their children do not so that length difference is not a mutation.

I have had a lot of fun taking those odd growing plants and training them into something interesting looking.

Thanks. I just noticed some new growth on it that also seems odd.

Attachments

• 20200523_093530.jpg
    20200523_093530.jpg
    744.8 KB · Views: 41
  • 20200523_093530.jpg
    20200523_093530.jpg
    744.8 KB · Views: 45
  • 20200523_093505.jpg
    20200523_093505.jpg
    908.6 KB · Views: 48
  • 20200523_093610.jpg
    20200523_093610.jpg
    810.5 KB · Views: 49
That’s a weird one. Started off with 3 sets of leaves - whorled phyllotaxy. Then started alternated growth. Now it is expressing a flattened stem- fasciation.

fasciated plants make the infamous “cunt” buds.