Fng

AlloyGT

Hi,

I live in Colorado, and I want to start growing a couple of plants. I can have up to six here, with up to three flowering at once. Looking to get some info, as I am new to growing. I want to start out extremely low budget, and see if I enjoy growing before making any big investment. So for now, I'm thinking 3 gallon pot and a Home Depot grow light!

I've read quite a bit on here already, and think this is definitely where to find info and support.

Hello there. Do you plan on growing up from seed or clone? Depends on where in CO you are there are grow shops here with nice low prices for great soil that will keep the budget down. Soil with nutes will help keep down cost as well. If there's any way I can help just let me know. Do you know What kind of lights you will need for veg and flower?

Thanks for the welcome! I think I'd like to start from a clone, but I still need to see if I can even get one from a retail outlet yet. I've just started researching, and I don't know about any of the grow shops yet. I've also just started to read up on lights. LEDs sound great, but I think I'll be going CFL, at least at first.

Hi Fng,

I would just like to welcome you to the site :) and congratulate you for starting. Everyone I know loves growing and once you get the hang of it you will too. A little more info on your set up would be helpful and don't forget to read the thread on How to Grow Marijuana.

:circle-of-love:

Id recommend a 200 watt cfl to start with since you are on a budget. It will be under 100 for the fixture and bulb on amazon. Led as someone had suggested will simply be to expensive especially if you want to start small. I started with 2 150 watt cfl a 1 600 watt hps/mh combo bulb but I wouldnt recommend going with those energy efficient tiny bulbs that fit into a regular socket. I tried starting at the very beginning with that and it was terrible it was a tiny long stem with puny little leaves.