General Question- Looking for input

n3mp0

This is my first time posting in this thread, so hello everyone!

I started out doing Hydro (DWC) but after a few failed attempts and lots of factors I never thought off; dirty reservoir, additional nutrients, algae and constantly flushing. I decided to switch to soil.

I'm using bag seeds. My plants about a month and 1 week old. It's about 1ft tall, but to me it seems more 'wide' then 'tall' and I just want to make sure I'm doing everything right. I seem to have a lot of smaller leaves grow underneath bigger ones, so they can't get any light? Is that fine? Below is a brief history of what I'm doing to hopefully help with any additional questions.

From the research I've done, this is my setup;

Soil: I'm currently using Micro-grow for soil, but I just purchased some Fox Farm - Ocean Forest.

Pot/Container I'm using a 5GAL container

Water I make sure my PH is around 5.5 -6.0 when feeding. And didn't start feeding the plant nutrients until 3 weeks in. I give it a gallon of water every 2-3 days? I use my finger to tell if the soils damp? Should I be water more?

Light I'm using 2x 60watt CFL's about 4 inches away from the plant.

nutrients Since I started with a Hydro setup. I'm using General Hydroponic 3 stage - Flora Series. First question is how should I be mixing this? Does it matter what I put in first? As of right now i mix 1 tsp each per Gal. (I think I should have increased it a lot more, but scared to get nutrients burn.)

Thanks for the input!!