Going on Vacation

greensmoker

I am worried about watering my plants. I have one Early Widow ( Fem) and three regular widows ,that I grew from seed , in 3 1/2 gal buckets filled with coco coir . They are about done vegging in my small grow box but I won't switch the ( CFL ) lights to 12/12 until I get back from vacation. I have been giving them aprox. 16 oz water every other day or so adding nutes every other time. So I am going to be gone seven days and I don't want to loose my grow at this time. I am thinking of giving each plant / container about 50 oz of water to hold them over till I get back. So I guess with my ramblings I am trying to find out is it better to give them too much water or let them dry out a bit. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Also, I don't have anyone to take care of them and I don't really want to get into some McQuiver type watering system unless its real simple. Thanks & Cheers !

I'm no expert, but...

Seven days it a bit too long to go without water. I go about 4 or 5 days right now and it seems to be working.
One option could be a water container with a small hose so that it gets a drip feed.

Example, take a 1 gallon milk jug, punch a pin hole in it so small that it takes several days to drain out. You can run a hose down to the plants or have them just drain straight into the plants.

If you have time, you can test it in your sink. If time is limited, measure and mark the jug. Time it for say 1 day, after 1 day, 1/7 or so should be drained out.

Another option is to move them to a larger pot or grow bag. If your in a 3 gallon, move to a 10 gallon grow bag and water them just before leaving. Maybe even do both, move them to larger pots/bags AND add the water bottle with a hole.

If you have the room, you can just take a plastic water bottle, poke 2 very small holes in it and put it on top of the soil.

Some say a soaker hose works too, but that would take more work.