Grow Room Questions

Dlaw90

Hey guys,
Im starting my first grow. Im not very experienced when it comes to plants. However though i do have a couple buddies helping me out as well. My first concern is my room. Ill upload some pictures to show you guys what im working with. It is an attic above my garage. The attic is 22 foot long, 7 feet wide, and 5 ft tall(will this be a problem)? I have one 400w Light with a vent system. The system is nothing fancy but should work. I plan on getting a Hps/mh bulb for both cycles. I also have 4x t5 lights that i believe are 50w apiece. Is this going to be e space and lights for about 6-8 plants?

2012-10-31_19-01-00_106.jpg

WAaaaayyyyy to big of any area for a 400w light. You'll only have about 4 ft x 4 ft of coverage with a 400w. But, that's more than enough to grow several plants. Excellent area to build a grow room

WAaaaayyyyy to big of any area for a 400w light. You'll only have about 4 ft x 4 ft of coverage with a 400w. But, that's more than enough to grow several plants. Excellent area to build a grow room

Ty for the quick response. Will the hiegth of the room be ok? Its only about 5 foot tall.

Depending on the weather where you live I would recommend enclosing your grow space. Otherwise it'll be nearly impossible to control temp and humidity for a handful of plants in a space that large. Given the slope on the ceiling I don't think you'll find a suitable tent. Slap up a few 2x4s to create a basic frame and use penguin plastic (spacing on the actual name ... imagine that... but it's black one side and white on the other) for walls. This nice thing about framing your own is that you can add a piece of plywood in there to mount your power, your fan, and your controls in the place of your choosing.