How do I get started?

420cloud9

This is my first time growing, and i wanted to know if i should build a hydroponic system or if it is necessary to spend money on a nice one. If i should make one then what materials and products should i purchase to get started? Also what is the most effective way to germinate seeds I saw a post saying not to use the paper towel method because you have to handle the seeds. I bought thc bomb, white widow big bud, cotton candy and hawaiin skunk seeds are these good quality strains?

Hi and welcome. That is a lot of questions!

First time growers should probably stick to soil for simplicity. I currently use Fox Farms Ocean Forest, which doesn't even need any nutes for the first month. A search on the forum will net some quality brands of nutes. I currently am using Fox Farm nutes but having a difficult time with them so I will not recommend them.

I have success most of the time with the paper towel method. Certainly wash your hands well before handling but no need to obsess. I put a folded wet paper towel or two in a container with a lid (e.g. cleaned food container/tupperware). Use either a dark container or one you will place in a dark place. Put paper towel square in the container. Put enough tap water to soak the towel but drain off any excess. There should not be a pool of water. Place seed under the top fold of the paper towel. Put on the lid and put in a dark place that is reasonably warm (I put mine in a cabinet in my office where the computers keep it a little warmer than the rest of the house).

Check in 2-3 days. When you see a little tail coming out, perhaps wait until is 1/4 to 1/2 inch long, then plant in a starter container with your soil. You are on your way.

Hi and welcome. That is a lot of questions!