How to remove a male in a multi-plant tote?

Papageno

So I have a tote DWC with multiple plants in one res. I started from seed as this is my first grow in over 10 years. I have never done Hydro before and now that they have bloomed I found a male. The roots for my one male underneath have grown into another. I don't want to hurt the female by removing the male but I also don't want the roots to decay and rot in the res if I chop down the top. Is there a good way of clearing out the male? maybe trimming it back so it is totally in shock and keep it that way or should I pull it gently out and not worry about the female roots?

Hmmm, tricky situation.

If the roots aren't tangled that badly, i would just yank it out, or gently cut some roots to remove it. Leaving a few dead roots shouldn't cause a major problem in your res if you do regular maintenance. As long as you have decent air flow in the water. A splash of hydrogen peroxide every now and then will keep any bacteria down, and plants don't mind it. Even if one of your good plants loses some roots, it will recover eventually, and shouldn't do too much damage.
That's just my opinion.

But there is actually a think out there called 'root pruning'.
Where you might prune the leaves or branches of a plant, some people actually prune the roots, if they become root bound or they want to limit the plants growth.

Thanks Paul,

They are significantly intertwined. I try to use a live tea with beneficial bacteria so going H2O2 kinda kills my situation...but I may have to just do it. I am going to have to basically cut it out and loose some from the female and leave a pile from the male. I will dump the res soon and hopefully get the bulk out.

Well it isn't much of a problem as this is just a test run for this type of hydro anyway. I think when I build my new room I will change this out and make an Undercurrent system not an RDWC anyway.

Thanks Paul,