Temp. for new sprouts

buckeyebonger

i just germinated 12 new seeds. commercially bought. all germinated and then popped through the soil quickly. they got to 2 or 3 inches. drooped and died. i had them in a new location under just 150 watt hps about 2 feet away. however, it has been a hot summer and that room in the basement got to about 83-85 degrees f. could the heat have been the killer? i don't know why i changed my routine on new seed and seedlings, but i will go back to my old location and lighting set-up. it always worked. but i wonder if it was heat so i can more closely monitor my new planting. don't want it to happen again. weather is crazy. same room gets almost too cold in the winter to grow without a heater

im a noob , but i got about 15 seedlings under two t5's and with door closed ive caught it up around 92 and have not had a problem , i keep it at about 87 tho. . . im thinking something else was the cause

I sprout mine in darkness on a heated pad, when they pop its straight into the veg room. I use 8 x 23W(100W eqv.) 6500k cfl's and the room is easily in that 80-85 degree range on a hot day.....So I don't think it was the temp.

Ya I'm with Kayla and daze I run 10 cfls and temps in mid to upper 80z and mine flourish! Once they grow to 6 weeks I then move them to MH ! So I also dont think it was the heat buddy

Were there nutes in the soil? Too much would kill them. Soil could be too tightly packed?
Too wet? just a few ways that i have killed seedlings..:roorrip:

my guess is nutes. i usually add a little bit of very weak organic fert. probably got too aggressive. dirt was fox farms and moisture was fine. sort of narrows it down. i just started new seeds. i will put them in soil in a day or two and will post the results. no nutes should answer the question if they grow well.