Whodathot's Noob Medical Grow Journal

whodathot

Hi all,

I'm a noob medical grower for myself and another patient. I'll have to re-title my thread later when I decide exactly what methods, plants, etc I am using. Meanwhile, I'm going to post my thought processes to clarify the direction I am heading and to get feedback from you good folks.

I'm starting a new grow room, from scratch, and I'm a total noob. I'm a very careful planner and I like to think of different types of configurations and eventualities and would love to design a tight system, low maintenance, low(er) risk of mechanical breakdown room. I have a decent amount of money to throw at the design, but don't want to over-design or overspend unnecessarily.

I can grow 12 plants as a patient and grow 12 plants for each patient I care for (up to 5 patients). I can possess 2.5 oz usable medicine for myself and each of my patients. At the end of the month, I will be authorized to grow 24 plants total. I am thinking of starting with 4-6 clones that are ready to go into flowering.

My space is a room that is 8.75' X 7.5'. It also has a 2' x 4' closet (convert to vegging later, perhaps?) I plan to start with using clones to begin with as I get a few grows under my belt and then add in cloning to my skills down the road. So I've been contemplating all the different types of growing mediums, systems, and related topics as I put this rom all together. It's a bit daunting!!

As I am a new grower (inside at least), I'd really like to stay away from overly complex hydro and aeroponics systems. I have read that they really produce yields, but something about it doesn't seem natural. Seems like you can push a lot of nutes through the plants and artificially boost them to grow, but at what cost?