5 Gallon Buckets

Buckets420

I am using four 5 gallon buckets for my grow and would like some input on preparing the buckets. I am wondering how many holes should I drill in my buckets, what size the holes should be, and where the holes should be drilled. My soil mixture is 2" of coco croutons on the bottom of the bucket and a mixture of fox farm, perlite, and coco fiber if any of this matters. This is my first time growing so there is a huge learning curve for me but I have been researching soil mixtures, lighting , and other issues related to the grow. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I really haven't found any good articles or videos on this issue.

I am using four 5 gallon buckets for my grow and would like some input on preparing the buckets. I am wondering how many holes should I drill in my buckets, what size the holes should be, and where the holes should be drilled. My soil mixture is 2" of coco croutons on the bottom of the bucket and a mixture of fox farm, perlite, and coco fiber if any of this matters. This is my first time growing so there is a huge learning curve for me but I have been researching soil mixtures, lighting , and other issues related to the grow. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I really haven't found any good articles or videos on this issue.
I'm not a big fan of buckets because they retain water and are hard to flush. Personally, I'd drill as many 1/4" holes as I could (but still hold soil) in the bottom 6" of the buckets. That's just what I would do. Hope you have a successful grow!

-P:ganjamon:

What would you suggest using other than buckets?
I use cloth "Geo Pots". They breathe great, help soil drainage. I've got a few 3 gallon, 5 gallon, and 7 gallon that I use depending on what I'm growing. They've never done me wrong.