Better Than Nothing, Or Is It: First Time Grow On The Cheap

jahliver209

So while I have some growing experience, it's been a while and I've never grown from seed. I had a few laying around and was bored, so I decided to see what i can or can't do.

I literally have no budget for this, just a couple of bucks here and there. So the challenge is to use whatever I can to maximize efficiency. No space, no lights, nothing special - just a bookshelf, surge protector, and some socket plugs.

Walmart carries a 100 watt replacement daylight bulb (17.5 actual LED watts) for $5.16. It says it outputs 1600 lumens and has a color temperature of 5000K. My local 99 Cent store has a 2 pack of 17 watt 2700K LEDs for $2.99. I modified the diffusers (I think that's what they're called) to push out more light, or not restrict as much from coming out.

Attached is what it looks like at the moment.

Attachments

• IMG_20190221_184239243.jpg
    IMG_20190221_184239243.jpg
    576.1 KB · Views: 298
So while I have some growing experience, it's been a while and I've never grown from seed. I had a few laying around and was bored, so I decided to see what i can or can't do.

I literally have no budget for this, just a couple of bucks here and there. So the challenge is to use whatever I can to maximize efficiency. No space, no lights, nothing special - just a bookshelf, surge protector, and some socket plugs.

Walmart carries a 100 watt replacement daylight bulb (17.5 actual LED watts) for $5.16. It says it outputs 1600 lumens and has a color temperature of 5000K. My local 99 Cent store has a 2 pack of 17 watt 2700K LEDs for $2.99. I modified the diffusers (I think that's what they're called) to push out more light, or not restrict as much from coming out.

Attached is what it looks like at the moment.