JakPot's Hempy Bucket LED Grow - First Journal

I grew up around growers, always had the best bud around in my teen years. Sometimes they would show me their plants and explain to me what they were doing to maximize yield, increase potency, or improve flavor. It was cool but I never paid that close of attention. I picked up little tidbits of information here and there.

I've been reading this forum and several others for several years now and I've recently read a growing book (that I think is a little over-hyped but is ok) called Growing Elite Marijuana. But, I am a total noob.

When I finally began growing on my own it was because I lived in a state in an area that had garbage weed compared to what I was use to back home. I didn't have a lot of space and the area was strict, even on weed. it was in the south.

It was 2009 and I'd read a lot about Auto strains. Seemed easy to grow so I gave them a try. First strain I tried was Auto AK47. I topped them and they withered. They were sickly the whole grow and I got around 10 grams of mids; still better than what was available locally.

I've grown a lot of autos since then and I honed in my training techniques but I never topped again. I regularly pulled nice 1.5 - 2 ounce harvests out of a 24 inch hollowed out computer tower with 400W CFL equivalents, lined with Mylar, and two fans; an intake and exhaust.

I read about the manifold technique and decided to try it but I intended on following the guide in real time. With my internet down I chose to FIM instead of mainline. I've never fimmed before either but it seemed easy enough. A friend of mine told me that it is better to pinch the top with my fingernail instead of scissors and so that is what I did on the first 3.

I didn't feel like I was getting it right, maybe because I clip my nails regularly. So on the baby mango after doing it with my thumb and forefinger on the first 3, I tried it with scissors.