3rd soil grow, first with 120 watt LEDs

yum000

So I'm starting my 3rd soil grow in a 39"x39" 6.5' tall grow tent. I'm growing 3 South African Durbans & 3 White Widows. I'm still a newbie and I've already made a couple mistakes on this first grow, I sprouted from seed in these 5 gal containers, 3 of them are smart pots. I've got a 50/50 mix of Fox farms Ocean Forest & Happy Frog in the pots, didn't add anything addional. They all sprouted this past Thursday July 10th, I just took these pics tonight July 12th. Light wise in the tent I've got a 6500K 200 watt CFL & a 120 watt Doberman tri-band red/blue/orange. My plan is to veg them for 2-4 weeks on a 16/8 schedule, then I was planning on removing the CFL and adding a 2nd 120 watt doberman and an all red 90 watt UFO. Nutes wise I've got Fox Farms grow big & Tiger bloom

yumm

DSC011213.jpg

DSC011223.jpg

DSC011201.jpg

Forgot, for ventilation I've got a 85cfm fan connected to a 10 inch charcoal can filter, no intake fan-I could only input air from the room, not from outdoors as I'd ideally want. I'm keeping the ambient room temp at aprox 72-74 through the day, 69-70 at night. The fan seems to afford good air movement through the tent, but I just placed a temp gauge at soil level and am getting 79-80 degrees. I've noticed other threads where the soil level temp 6-10 degrees less than mine, am I running too hot? Also another interesting thing to note, the picture of the seedling under the LED light is one in a fabric smart pot. I watered this thoroughly less than 24 hours ago and already you can see a 2 inch dry ring around the outer wall. The smart pot is supposed to keep the roots better oxygenated & cooled by evaporation, if this is any evidence it seems to be working !

I'll be watching this with great interest. My research tells me that leds aren't quite there yet, especially considering the price, but research can be wrong. Good luck!
+rep for taking the led plunge.

Day 4