48" fluorescent light for entire grow?

TxState

This is my first grow and im doing it in a small closet... Today I went to walmart and they have a 48" fluorescent light (holds 2 bulbs) for only $10. I was wondering if I could use this light for the entire grow?? Would this work or would it not be good enough? Just set it to 24/0 then a little less and then 12/12, would this work with this one light? I'm doing a poor mans grow so I don't have the money to be spending on expensive light... like I said this is my first time growing and I am by no means a pro. Help is much appreciated!

Re: 48" fluorescent light for entire grow??

Howdy cousin! Good luck on your first grow!
You give a weed light and food, it will grow. You give it more light and it will grow better/faster/stronger. One will be working within this defined parameter somewhere. The spread runs from LED's, Flouro's, HPS/MH, the the top end being our Sun. If your budget dictates Flouro, then Flouro it is.
You may want to spend a little more on the bulbs rather than the fixture, and get a mix of Ag. specific grow & bloom blub's if going for the entire grow cycle. Due to the lack of heat these bulbs generate, you also want to run it close/close & close, to the plant. This inherently sends some extra tending work your way as you will need to constantly raise the lights as the plant dictates. Just plan right now on a daily chore so as to take advantage of the limited lumens, and do yourself a big favor by spending some time and thought to suspending them in a fashion facilitating this goal to make it easy.
Good luck and give us some pics when you get going.

Sounds good... Looks like after school tomorrow I'll be going to walmart and buying me a 48" fluorescent with one cool bulb and one warm for my closet :cheesygrinsmiley:

My plants are 3 days old and about half an inch tall just buy using one 26w CFL. So I can't wait to put them under this bigger fluorescent