CFLs watts per plant? Nutrients?

Bob13567

Hi I am a noob planning a small grow maybe 3 plants in my spare bathtub. I am just wondering how many cfl lights I will need and how many watts per plant do I need. Is a 23 watt that's equal to 100 watts good or do I need to get 100 watts that are equal to 500 watts. And are there nutrients that I could pick up at Canadian tire or something that will work well. I see most ppl recommend fox farms but it would be nice if there was something I could just pick up at the store instead of ordering online. Any help much appreciated!

Sent from my iPhone using 420 Magazine Mobile App

Its all about spectrum and lumens. Cfl does not provide full needed spectrum for optimal yield. This doesnt mean you cant use it.
Persinally i use mh/hps/cmh +uv and some red and far red for special times of the day.
I used cfl in first grow and the results with mh/hps aint comparable to cfl.
If you wanna go big, i suggest 1000w mh/hps + some plasma and cmh if you can. If not at least a 600w mh/hps.
For the nutes advanced is canadian. I have used house and garden, advanced, canna, dutch pro and dyna gro. All with great results. Now i mostly use my own mix and sometimes during grow i add some silica and some other readily made products to my mix, its much cheaper and results do not vary enough to justify the price. Sure dynagro and advanced are better than my handmix nute, but not by much.
No one knows your plant better than you.
Just go for any decent brand respecting 3-1-2 for grow and 1-3-2 for bloom. Add some silica, pk boost for mid flower, some rhizo product to populate the medium, cal+mag if you use coco and some form of molasses(blackstrap molasse works well for me)
A nitro boost in mid veg could reveal itself well worthy too if you can well manage the phase.
Remember the more you care, the more you yield ;)
Good luck bro :)

BigBaron is right. :cheesygrinsmiley: I started with CFLs and I've watched many others do the same.