First Indoor Grow

blueneon007

Hi,

Well this is my first indoor grow (and journal).

I've done a few outdoors so I'm not a complete noob, but indoor, as I've found is a lot more involved :p hehe. This is a small setup but keep in mind the yields will be purely for personal use so I do not need truck loads.

So here goes my first attempt...

[17/09/11]

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cabinet: Size: 1.8ft (L) X 1.8ft (W) X 2.3ft (H)

Note: Due to the obvious short cabinet height, I cut a hole in the bottom and my reservoir sits in that hole so that the top of the reservoir starts almost level with the actual bottom of the cabinet. This means I have 2ft for growth height (2.3ft minus lights at max UP position and small part of res sticking up from floor level gives approx just over 2ft from net pot to max height).

Lights (all CFL's) - Currently running on 18/6:

2 x 45W (2500lm each) 4000K
6 x 20W (1250lm each) 6500K
2 x 18W (1040lm each) 6500K
2 x 20W (1350lm each) 2700K

This gives a mixed color spectrum and will be used for both veg and bloom.

Total actual CFL wattage = 286W
Total lumens provided = 17,280lm
Lumens per square ft = 5333lm

Reflector has been custom made using flood light reflectors designed for CFL but removed from casings and stuck together to accommodate more light fittings etc.

Lights are currently kept about 1.5-2" from seedlings

Air Circulation:

1 X PC Chassis Fan for inlet
1 X PC Chassis Fan for outlet
1 X PC Chassis Fan Just moving air around the cab

Cabinet Reflection:

Entire cabinet is lined using car windshield sun reflector (basically mylar).

Hydro System (DWC):

Res size: 28L tote (using about 16-18L of actual solution)
- Res is covered in white duct tape to assist with light reflection
- Four holes in the top in which I have four net pots inserted