First time indoor grower having CFL burnout issues

bloo58

Hi all, I'll just start out by saying this is my first attempt at an indoor grow, I've gathered my most of my knowledge from these forums and it all seems to be going fairly well, I'm just wondering if anyone has run into issues with 27k CFL tubes burning out, just had my 2nd tube in 2 weeks go and not sure what the problem is, my 64k ran for months on a mechanical timer with no hitches whatsoever, also when I put the 2nd 27k in (was thurs or fri), I put my belkin surge protector between it and the timer just to be sure, however when it blew today, it took half the house down from the SP at the meter box :(

I've had a search thru the forums and on google but cant find much helpful info on why the 27k's would be playing up, I heard from a fella at the store I bought the 2nd one from that they dont like timers, but a thread I've read here is saying digital timers are a no no and mech ones are aighty, and they dont discriminate between the spectrum of the tube.

So could I have just lucked out and received 2 dodgy tubes? its not a dire situation as yet, I was reducing the light gradually into 12/12 and its still at around 16/8 and no big changes, so I figure putting the 64k back in till I can get a new 27 wont do too much harm, but I sure would like a pros opinion on this :D,

I'll chuck up a few pics of my bodgy setup, and its exactly that, but its easy to dismantle should the need arise, and I only need enough for myself and a few mates, in short it should serve its purpose, but enough chit chat, pics

My Closet, as I said really quite bodgy, she lives in about a 50-50% mix of vermiculite and perlite, sprouted in grodan cube
30-09b.jpg