Manifold question

So I am approaching flower and am wondering, when defoliating before flower, am I taking growth tips out as well or just fan leaves?

This is my first time manifolding a plant so I’m not sure if I’m supposed to be focusing everything into the 8 colas only and removing all the growth tips below or if I’m just cleaning up for light penetration. I’ve attached an image to show where my plant is at before flower. Each cola has multiple nodes with growth tips reaching almost up to the canopy.

CCBC6E18-687F-4C3B-9726-23C29AF91332.jpeg

Don't remove any growth tips as this would sound like an act of topping ya don't want to do this at this stage of growth ?

Might of jumped the gun with the above mention ^ perhaps you was referring to lower side branches & if so I guess it doesn't really matter a great deal.

Ok defol ah not right know... first of all your bud sites have not formed & this normally takes a few weeks for flower sites to pop pistils etc.

This is around the 3rd week mark roughly allowing for individual grow conditions & when most of the flowering stretch is done etc this is when defol may take place with aprox of 25% of fan leaf's are removed depending on how leafy your strain is !

Defol the upper top 3rd of the stems this is where your main cola forms.

During the flowering period you may get some yellowing of fan leaf's from the lower levels up with this being reasonable normal.

2nd stage defol is the last few weeks of flowering or the ripening period of the trichomes & this allows for greater light allowance to the lower bud sites to pack on mass/ripen.

I do think some of these methods only offer marginal returns in the long run.

SIDE NOTE - looks like ya got a small Ca / Mg def going on & you may want to treat that issue before flowering gets on the way :thumb: