Mother Plant

dontinhale

420 Member
I hope it is ok to ask a question here in the lounge? There is a lot of discussion about finding a good phenotype and a good mother plant. Ok what am I looking for? I have some seedlings and to me they all look alike?

The FAQ section is probably the best spot to post this. I always flower and harvest before deciding which one I like best. Cut clones before going into flowering mode and save the labelled clones of each plant till you decide which one you like. I know no way of choosing based on the appearance of seedlings.

I hope it is ok to ask a question here in the lounge? There is a lot of discussion about finding a good phenotype and a good mother plant. Ok what am I looking for? I have some seedlings and to me they all look alike?

I am a clone farmer ... but I don't know how much help I can be. I'll to try.

A "good" phenotype ... for me? Is a plant that is in demand. My patients and my farmers and my collective want it. Supply v demand. THEN: I look for plants are relatively easy to clone. Some plants (the CBD strains come to mind) are not easy to clone. If I'm getting a success rate of under 50% - I can't afford to keep her. My average success rate is about 85% ... I know, everybody can do better than that ... but I'm making 1000 babies a week - I don't need to spend twice as much and spend half as much time just to get to 100%. Plus, only the strong survive. THEN: I look for plants that are NOT prima-donna's. They are not finicky, or need a lot of special attention.