Topping question

datfatboi

im trying to get really thick branches to resist the wind. am i topping correctly here? or am i supposed to cut one of the new branches too and only leave one?

photo_2021-04-06_15-35-51.jpg

im trying to get really thick branches to resist the wind. am i topping correctly here? or am i supposed to cut one of the new branches too and only leave one?

Hey @datfatboi welcome to 420magazine. Its hard to tell exactly what your asking.
Taking the center stalk like you have i believe is correct.
If you have a wind issue. You can stake and tie her.
Get some silicate will strengthen cell walls making her sturdy.
Bill

Hey @datfatboi welcome to 420magazine. Its hard to tell exactly what your asking.
Bill
Bill
You can stake and tie her. sorry what do you mean by this?

what i'm asking is, should i also cut the branch i circled? i'm kinda new to topping.

You can stake and tie her. sorry what do you mean by this?

what i'm asking is, should i also cut the branch i circled? i'm kinda new to topping.
No thats your new branches. It defeats the purpose if you remove that branch.
It'll grow a double top now instead of one.

oh i understand, and can i also top the new branches the same way i did with this one once they become longer and bigger?
Any branches you take top center growth from will automatically turn into two branches. Beware it will increase veg time.
Bill

To get real thick branches you should twist em! You will hear the (cellulose?) in the wall snap! I love doing this on all my outdoor plants.... every few day I find a spot and crush it up a bit. When it heals it will have knuckles all over and will be able to hold up the heavy donkey dongs!

To get real thick branches you should twist em! You will hear the (cellulose?) in the wall snap! I love doing this on all my outdoor plants.... every few day I find a spot and crush it up a bit. When it heals it will have knuckles all over and will be able to hold up the heavy donkey dongs!