Total newbie in every way looking for advice please

jjay200

420 Member
Hello all, I've been reading this forum for quite a while and it seems to have a very helpful and decent community vibe which i like so I'm now going to throw myself on the coals and ask for some advice... be gentle!!!

a while back I got bitten with the hydroponics bug and am really interested in using it as a side hobby, while researching anything and everything it was very obvious that 99% of the good info is from weed growers! Now, having lived my life to 34 and only ever smoked about 5 spliffs in my life I have ZERO knowledge bar what I have read in the past few weeks yet I'm very very intrigued by growing some for myself.

I was going to try an attic grow of around 6 plants or so from seed bought from a supplier donpaul.p seems to recommend highly and often.
My plan is to germinate in a propagator till a few inches high then shift them to the attic where I hope to grow them in a bucket method of some kind as I have drippers and pumps in abundance and it should be fairly straight forward. As for lighting I think ill have to go with fluorescent tubes ( bog standard kitchen lights ) as I can get a ready supply for free. Will this be enough as the pennies are in short supply since losing my job, fiancee, house and just about everything I held dear and now I'm fighting depression on a daily basis. Growing things is slowly helping me feel a bit better about myself.

Next up is what seeds should i start with? I was thinking the auto fem jobbies ( lack of knowledge is making me think these will be easiest?? )
The attic I plan to use is totally private and quite small as its part of an extension, what about heat levels?? I live in Ireland and its now starting to get to the colder time of the year.

I think that will do for now, no doubt I'll have more questions soon but ill get back to readding as many posts on starting as I can get my hands on.

thanks in advance guys and girls

JJ