Inline Fans - What's the best?

starsabove

:Namaste: Guys!

Ok i'm looking for the collective view / personal experiences with the best i.e. the quietest inline fans please. This is to cover 1 square meter grow space so just a little one - I believe it's around 169/70CFM if my calculations are correct. The most important thing here after what's best for my plant children is how quiet the fan is - stealth is of the upmost importance!! Have read up on ActiveAir and Vortex Atmosphere as being ultra quiet....but don't let me put words in anyone's mouths! Ideally one that comes with ducting and a CF would obviously be amazing but looks like they are hard to come by.

Thanks a million. Peace out x

I'm far from an expert on inline fans, but...

IMO, more important than the brand or model, it comes down to sizing the fan correctly, the speed of the fan, and how it's mounted. For example, if you think a 4" fan will turn over the air in your room adequately, consider a 6" fan running at reduced speed. The larger diameter duct will have less air turbulence than a smaller duct moving the same amount of air at a higher velocity. Likewise, the reduced fan speed will have less vibration.

Next comes mounting. The better you can uncouple the fan from walls, or other large surfaces, the better. These surfaces act to amplify any vibration (=sound). In a perfect situation, you would have the fan suspended w/o touching anything except the ducting. Flex duct will transmit less vibration than rigid duct, but it also produces more air turbulence (lowers efficiency, adds noise). That trade off could depend on whether the majority of the sound is coming from vibration or airflow, if you have the option to choose either. Most of us have to use flexible or semi-rigid duct.

I think that's all I got. :cheesygrinsmiley:

I'm far from an expert on inline fans, but...