Basil and more Basil!

THsea

Hello my fellow 420'ers!

Welcome to my little thread about basil cultivation! This will be a "learn as we go" thread, since I am pretty new to gardening of any type.

Pictures will come fairly soon, within a day or two.

Basil is second in my book to cannabis as my favorite herb. Its tasty, has many many food applications, smells amazing, and has enough variety to explore and not get bored! Did I mention its healthy? Yea, that too! :)
And guess what?! It contains BCP (beta-caryophyllene, an anti-inflamatory sesquiterpene also found in Cannabis and Black pepper)!

So.. Down to business..

I am now located in the carolina's instead of Hawaii, so the varieties I am growing here are a little different than what I grew before. In Hawaii I had Thai Basil, which is my favorite.

Here I have two packets.. One is a mixed pack that contains Cinnamon, Genovese, Tall Lemon, Lime, Mammoth, and Purple Petra Basils. To be honest the cinnamon variety is the one I am looking most forward to tasting!

The other packet is just a pack of Purple Petra. I bought an isolated one of this for the reason that its color reminds me somewhat of the Thai variety, and I am hoping it has the same wonderful slightly licorice-y flavor (and i dont even really like licorice, so if you are in the same boat, I implore you try it anyway!).

So.. How am I going about it? Well... Here at my dad's place he has Miracle Grow potting soil, so I filled one pot and placed four seeds in different corners a few days ago. They have already germinated and popped out the top soil! One has purple leaves, the other three are green so we will just have to wait til they are mature to find out which they are in particular!