Basil and more Basil!

Hello all, I'm back in the 808 state... We are slowly (very slowly) putting together a little garden here... I've finally been able to track down some thai basil! The little thai ladies told me "just goto walmart! they have it", I thought they were nuts.. But after checking for a few months, huzzah!

IMG_051611.JPG

Any tips welcome. I'm still a newbie at basil. I've got seeds for some genovese, sweet and... I think a big leaf one. Don't remember what its called.

Shes in a tub leftover from awesome ice cream (buko-pandan)! Using FFOF... I think in my bedding (and pots) I might not use Osmocote+.. There is an island product that is similar called... Island Supreme. Might try it with my mary-jane crop next time around too. Its 16-16-16, with 7 minor elements.

EDITED!!! Not organic, like OC+... I hope it is, or kind of is lol. I'm thinking that all the soil after my grows will be recycled into making the lil' garden. Or it wont happen! The shtuff in the ground is crap. Some parts of Hawaii are pretty amazing soil-wize... Not where I am!!! Its CLAY. Our dirt is red.

Have you tried this:

Slice a tomato into nice thick slices, place a thin slice of gourmet mozzarella cheese on top or cheese of your choice, put basil leaves on top of that and drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper.....oh so good...

pesto is also good on top of the basil as well. I loves me some basil as well. I am about to go pick some :)

That sounds awesome BPN! Definitely will try it... After I get some tomato harvests!

Figure since I've got some really nice basil plants... I'll take some shots tomorrow and post them. It's not my favorite flavor,but I really love how Greek Columnar Basil grows! Thai varieties are my favorite for taste... But this Greek stuff doesn't flower! So epic! Plus, I've had 100% cutting rate with it.