Can I dig my plants out of my garden and repot them?

radrichie61

Can I dig my plants out of my garden and repot them to protect from torrential rain from Ian, no wind expected however lots of rain?

So, that’s my question, can I and how would I go about pulling out of my garden and putting in big pots. Someone stated he had done it but wrap the pot and rootball in Myco. Remember I knew nothing in June. What the hell is Myco? I looked and it appears to be a root ball bossier. He said wrap, I had the image of something to “wrap” it in.

I have 3 small roughly 4-5 foot plants all growing quite closely to one another. Is the advice I was given that, since I grow hidden in my backyard, any kind of beach umbrella, small pvc pipe and clear plastic shed roof over it. I was a carpenter at one time and know I could make it but my neighbors are so close and I have been out there way to much all summer. Could not help it. And it would be tough. I may be able to build a lightweight pvc square with long vertical posts to go into the ground and then place sheeting on it and remove it as well. Might be able to turn it in to a trellis and rain cover, all in one.

Below is a pic of my grow space. It is from a long time ago but is the best pic of the area since the 3 plants are small. Also, to consider repotting them, there are 3 plants there in a 7x5 bed I dug fresh so pretty well processed soil, would not be hard to get out I would think.
7E26F866-D4BE-466B-A1C1-F79817D1C4BB.jpeg
9424CE73-B680-45F6-8A70-708438E861F2.jpeg
7B099F56-23C7-476F-BDC4-E6DD6A4E7974.jpeg
7397A6B3-ECCB-4202-8166-C34455F0AAB8.jpeg
CEDFEB23-7F16-4A10-A6B5-BDBEB721FAA5.jpeg
3ECB2A30-B8DD-4435-A5B0-52BB133E7DF9.jpeg
AE1B4CB9-67C5-4943-BFC4-9CBF31D7F6F8.jpeg

Diggin them up terrifies me. But also it would be nice to get back to being more mobile, but yikes.

Thanks Rich