Foxfarm soils

I'm not so stubborn that I can't be convinced that there are better ways of doing things.I just would like to know why you guys feel the way you do about these pricey soils.

They are pricey. I like the consistency of it and how well it drains. If I could find the raw materials like the ground up bark mulch its mostly made of I would make my own for sure. I had some trouble making my own soil the first time and decided I wanted to go for a sure thing so I went to FFOF and have been happy with it. I'm still learning so I wanted fewer variables in my second grow. As I progress and learn how to listen to the plants better I will venture out and make my own soil if it is cost effective. Til then I'll blow 40-60 bucks on dirt for my grows and worry about one less thing. :peace:

I like that some of the soils, like Roots Organic, or FoxFarm have everything you need, you can add a little here or there, but you don't need too, I agree with McBudz, they drain well also, and I only pay about 10 bucks for a 1.5 cubic foot bag, If I were to make my own soil I don't think I could make it for as cheap. Plus it cuts out hours of "playing in the mud".

Years ago I was using Black Gold, it was only about 4 bucks for a 1.5 cu.ft. bag and it did just fine, I've never done the side by side comparison, but I truly believe that spending a couple extra bucks on soil makes enough of a difference in final quality and yield that it is well worth the price.

Try picking up a bag for yourself and compare some plants side by side, who knows action1, you may blow this "expensive soil" thing out of the water and enlighten us all.

My preference would be for FF Ocean Forest as your question asks,> My preference is to mix it with 3cu ft of Pro Mix adding nothing in the initial stages except " Earth Juice Rootstock" to help promote some root stimulation>