GH pH up down all the way around

Chalkoutline

420 Member
I have been trying to ph my water using the General Hydroponics PH Up and Down. I put my water in a gallon jug, test it and it is usually high. Around 7.5 or so. Put ONE drop of ph down and test it. It goes all the way to the other end of the range. Around 4.5. Put ONE drop of ph up and boom. All the way back up at the high end of the range.

I have been using this method for about 6 months and I have always been able to dial it in.

Can this stuff go bad? I don’t know how to do half a drop. Lol.

its your probe maybe? Those glass probe ends have a life span and then they start acting crazy like this. Did you get the probe conditioner to store it in and are you careful to always put it away wet with that solution?

This came with a little plastic vial to sample the water. Then I use a testing fluid. Dark green is to base. Dark orange is to acidic. Yellow is juuuust right.

I’ve had some of those test drops sitting on my shelf for ten years and they seem to work the same as ever. I wonder- if your water adjusts that much with just one drop- it probably doesn’t need adjusting in the first place. Unless it’s reasonably hard water (high ppm) then I don’t think it will be able to shift the ph of your grow medium. For dwc type hydro it might matter- but not for soil and probably not for soilless either.

I’ve had some of those test drops sitting on my shelf for ten years and they seem to work the same as ever. I wonder- if your water adjusts that much with just one drop- it probably doesn’t need adjusting in the first place. Unless it’s reasonably hard water (high ppm) then I don’t think it will be able to shift the ph of your grow medium. For dwc type hydro it might matter- but not for soil and probably not for soilless either.

It’s just that it is testing off the chart initially. Always on the high side.