Gort's Outdoor Grow In Oregon

The Jillybean flowers are starting to get a little sticky.
Jilly A.jpg
Jilly B.jpg
Jilll=y sure is looking sticky and plumping up. Nice sunny day

Hey Gort... I'm digging your grow and your approach. I'm an organic farmer here.

You were wondering why there was cloth in the btm of your beds. When whomever built them originally it was for weed control. Nowadays we just put down a layer of card board. That will be enough to kill all the weeds and the seeds that might follow.

Back in the day it was normal to add a layer of some sort of material, usually plastic <yuk> and as you mentioned, it kept out the worms.

To build up your soil to get it nice and black you need to start composting if you aren't doing that already. Leaves and coffee grounds get the party started and then more and more of it. Spread the composted goodness around and pretty soon you will have decent soil. Don't forget rock dust, the worms with thank you.

Not sure where in Oregon you are but its a hot bed for organic farming, your local farm seed/feed store likely has everything and more for you... compost, rock dust, amemdments for your compost .... yada yada.

I'm a no-till farmer, run the same soil over and over and over, water only. GREAT yields too and I'm indoors sadly. I live in a city.

I'm gonna sub up and grab a seat and ... sub'd for the flowers. It wont be long now! You're on borrowed time tho. Hope your plants finish before the rains come. There coming.... Your Jilly Bean should finish in time.

Looking good too... congrats on your harvest. Gotta great bunch of weeds there.

There are quite a few growers here from around your parts.

Hey Gort... I'm digging your grow and your approach. I'm an organic farmer here.